Previous IFPA-Fletcher Conferences

36th Annual IFPA-Fletcher Conference on
National Security and Policy
Nuclear and Non-Nuclear Forces in 21st-Century Deterrence: Implementing the New Triad

December 14-15, 2005
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel
Washington, D.C.

Speaker Transcripts and Presentations

Dr. Robert B. Barker, former Assistant to the Director,
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories
Transcript || Powerpoint (183 KB)

Dr. Barry M. Blechman, Founder, President, and CEO, DFI International, and Member, Defense Policy Board

The Hon. Linton F. Brooks, Under Secretary of Nuclear Security and Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration
Welcome transcript || Session 5 - transcript

Ms. Elaine Bunn, Director, Future Strategic Concepts Program, Institute for National Strategic Studies, National Defense University

Dr. Stephen A. Cambone, Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence

Dr. Ashton B. Carter, Ford Foundation Professor of Science and International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

General James E. Cartwright, USMC, Commander,
U.S. Strategic Command

Admiral Henry G. Chiles, Jr., USN (Ret.), former Commander, U.S. Strategic Command

Ambassador Henry Cooper, Chairman, High Frontier; former Director, Space Defense Initiative Organization; and former Chief Negotiator, Geneva Defense and Space Talks (Reagan Administration)

Steven Cortese, Vice President of Programs and Budgets, Lockheed Martin Corporation – Washington Operations, and former Chief of Staff, Senate Appropriations Committee

The Hon. J.D. Crouch II, Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor

The Hon. Paula A. DeSutter, Assistant Secretary for Verification and Compliance, Department of State

Dr. John S. Foster, Jr., Consultant, Northrop Grumman Space Technology, and former Director, Defense Research and Engineering, Department of Defense
Transcript || Powerpoint (95 KB)

Dr. William R. Graham, Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, National Security Research, Inc., and Chairman of the Commission to Assess the Threat to the United States from Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP) Attack
Transcript || Powerpoint (9.2 MB)

Mr. Brian Green, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Forces Policy, International Security Policy, U.S. Department of Defense
Transcript || Powerpoint (6.95 MB)

Dr. John Harvey, Director, Policy & Planning, National Nuclear Security Administration, Department of Energy
Transcript || Powerpoint (100 KB)

The Honorable Ryan Henry, Principal Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Policy 
Transcript||Powerpoint (7.1 MB)

Mr. Steve Henry, Deputy Assistant to the Secretary of Defense (Nuclear Matters)
- Transcript || Powerpoint (628 KB)

Dr. Fred Iklé, Distinguished Scholar, Center for Strategic and International Studies, and former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy and Director of the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency

The Hon. Ronald F. Lehman II, Director, Center for Global Security Research (CGSR), Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Mr. Frank Miller, Vice President, The Cohen Group, and former Senior Director for Defense Policy and Arms Control, National Security Council

Vice Admiral Robert R. Monroe, USN (Ret.), former Director, Defense Nuclear Agency, and Member, Nuclear Strategy Forum

Mr. Frank Moore, Sector Vice President & General Manager, Missile Defense Division, Northrop Grumman Mission Systems

Brigadier General Richard Y. Newton, III, USAF, Director, J5, U.S. Strategic Command

Lieutenant General Henry “Trey” Obering III, USAF, Director, Missile Defense Agency
- Transcript - powerpoint

Dr. Keith B. Payne, President, National Institute for Public Policy, and former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Forces Policy
Transcript || Powerpoint (168 KB)

Congressman Adam Schiff, Democrat, 29th District of California

Dr. William Schneider, Jr., President, International Planning Services, Inc.; Chairman, Defense Science Board, Department of Defense

Mr. Henry Sokolski, Executive Director, Non-Proliferation Policy Education Center
Transcript || Powerpoint (628 KB)

The Hon. R. James Woolsey, Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton; co-chairman, Committee on the Present Danger, and former Director of the CIA - Transcript


Dr. Jacquelyn K. Davis, Executive Vice President, Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis

Dr. Dale Klein, Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Nuclear, Chemical, and Biological Defense Programs

Dr. Charles M. Perry, Vice President and Director of Studies, Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis

Dr. Robert L. Pfaltzgraff, Jr., President, Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis, and Shelby Cullom Davis Professor of International Security Studies, The Fletcher School, Tufts University

Dr. James Tegnelia, Director, Defense Threat Reduction Agency